Tuesday, June 18, 2024
Latest News

Titans capture USA T10 Premier League

BROWARD/FL – USA: Titans cricket club was crowned champions of the USA T10 International Premier League (IPL) when they defeated Samp Army in the finals on Sunday at the Central Broward Regional Park in Fort Lauderdale.

In a one-sided final, West Indian Chadwick Walton was able to carry the Titans home with an unbeaten 46 that gave them an eight-wicket triumph. Batting first Samp Army struggled against the experienced Titans attack and registered an under par 63/7 off their 10 overs.

Sarnam Patel and Deep Patel were the only batsmen who looked up for the challenge. The Southpaw Patel looked good during his 27 off 25 balls that contained one six. Deep Patel was aggressive and counted 19 off 16. Apart from these two the others struggled and in the end all they could muster was 63/7 as they lost wickets trying to up the run rate at the back end.

The Titans spinners led the way with three of them taking two wickets apiece. Aaditya Varadharajan took 2/7, left arm back of the hand spinner Kristopher Ramsaran grabbed 2/8 and the tournament’s leading wicket-taker Mark Deyal grabbed 2/12. The right-arm off-spinner Deyal ended the tournament as the leading bowler with 12 wickets and created a lot of problems for batsmen on the batting friendly Central Broward pitch.

When Titans chased their target they lost the dangerous Guyanese batsman Trevon Griffith for two. This would have given Samp Army confidence of making inroads. However Walton and Deyal killed off those intentions by taking the score to 38 in the fifth over, when the latter got out in an unfortunate manner. Walton drove powerfully back to the bowler and the ball touched his hand before crashing into the stumps with Deyal out his crease. At the time he had scored 13 off eight balls with a six and a four.

Walton would then stay to the end to ensure that the Titans walked away with the trophy. He scored 46 not out off 18 balls with five sixes and one four. His efforts afforded him the man of the match award. He also won the man of the match award for his 60 not out off 32 balls in the semis against Orlando Stars.

Ball by ball Final Scorecard link below :


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *