Tuesday, June 18, 2024
Latest News

SAMP Army the MCL President’s Cup champs

The winning SAMP Army team celebrates with the chairman of Cricket Council USA (CCUSA) Mahammad Qureshi.
TAMPA/FL – USA: The meaning of SAMP is unity and it seems to have worked well for the SAMP Army as they played as a united bunch to defeat hometeam Tampa Tigers to lift the inaugural MCL President’s Cup on Sunday evening at the Wesley Chapel Cricket Stadium in Tampa, Florida.
Set a victory target of 196, the Tigers could not find the batting needed and fell short at 143 all out with an over and a half to go. Sagar Patel cracked 51, and Steven Taylor made 44 to lead SAMP Army to 195 all out off their allotted 20 overs.
Patel, who was consistent during the tournament again came to the party for SAMP Army and made 51. He faced 35 balls, hitting two sixes and six fours. Taylor who has also very good during the series made 44 off 27 balls with two sixes and five fours. After the early loss of Chandu Kasireddy for a ‘duck’ Patel and Taylor got together to form a second-wicket association of 63 runs.
For Tampa Tigers Prahlad Madabhushi was brilliant taking 4/22, while Vijay Balagopala was among the wickets again taking 3/39.
Tampa Tigers left a huge job of getting up to 196 was depending heavily on opener Leslie Daniel. He started well but then fell for 27 to add pressure to the Tampa Tigers outfit.
Sanjay Raghav fought well but his 38 was not enough and although Gerald Penford got 26 and Praveen Borra 20 still fell short. Gaurav Khanna was absolutely brilliant and snared Khanna 4/8. Tirth Patel supported him well by taking 2/18.
The tournament carried prize money in the range of US$10,000.
SAMP Army 195 all out (20) (Sagar Patel 51, Steven Taylor 44, Aditya Gupta 26, Prahlad Madabhushi 4/22, Vijay Balagopala 3/39) vs Tampa Tigers 143 all out (18.3) (Sanjay Raghav 38, Leslie Daniel 27, Gerald Penford 26, Praveen Borra 20, Gaurav Khanna 4/8, Tirth Patel 2/18) – Samp Army won by 52 runs.