Tuesday, June 18, 2024
Latest Newsslider

CCUSA announces MCL Maq T20 President’s Cup to start season

MARGATE/FL – USA: Wesley cricket stadium in Tampa will play host to the MCL Maq T20 President’s Cup to mark the start of the season for Cricket Council USA (CCUSA).

CCUSA is excited to announce that the first ever President’s Cup in Tampa will bowl off on March 13 and action will go into March 14. Some of the best cricketers in the country will line up to compete in what is expected to be the showpiece cricket event in Tampa. Four teams will be taking part and looking to walk away with cash prizes in the range of US$10,000. Over the past few weeks teams have been holding their tryouts to get their best possible squads to compete in a tournament that will get international coverage because of MaqTv.


There will be four teams of 15 players each which will represent different zones in the country that falls under the CCUSA umbrella. The teams confirmed to take part are –

Samp Army

Maq Stars

Tampa Rebels

Tampa Tigers

Maq Stars is a combination of some of the best players from around the country. This team will be led by Zishawn Qureshi who just recently got picked up by Elland Cricket Club to play in the domestic leagues in England. Tampa Rebels and Tampa Tigers are two teams from the Tampa area but there will be players invited from outside that jurisdiction to bolster the squad. Samp Army who made their debut at the prestigious US Open T20 will be looking to continue their development at this tournament.

Format: The four teams will play a round-robin phase with the top two finishers making it to the final. On the opening day there will be four matches and to signal the start of the tournament will be Tampa Tigers and Samp Army. A total of four matches will take place on day one with each team getting in two games. The teams then return on March 14, day two to each play their final preliminary round match, before the top two teams are derived. They will then move on to play the final which is carded for 2pm.


March 13 – Samp Army vs Tampa Tigers at 10am.

March 13 – Tampa Rebels vs Maq Stars at 10am

March 13 – Samp Army vs Maq Stars at 2pm.

March 13 – Tampa Rebels vs Tampa Tigers at 2pm.

March 14 – Maq Stars vs Tampa Tigers at 10am.

March 14 – Samp Army vs Tampa Rebels at 10am.

March 14 – Final at 2pm.