Wednesday, April 17, 2024

8 teams vie for honours at President’s Cup MCL

WESLEY CHAPEL/TAMPA –  USA: Eight teams will battle for honors when the 2022 President’s Cup Major Cricket League (MCL) tournament is hosted by Cricket Council USA (CCUSA) at the Wesley Chapel and Hamilton Ground playing field in Tampa from February 18 to 20.

The Eight teams battling are Wesley Chapel Legends, Orlando Stars, Tiger CC, Titans CC, Sayreville CC, Yuvi Warriors, Royal Phoenix and New Milford CC. Chairman of CCUSA Mahammad Qureshi is welcoming all teams to the tournament with the message that cricket wins over everything. “We have had two difficult years battling Covid 19 and through it all we at CCUSA used cricket to bring smiles to the faces of cricket stakeholders. This is yet another attempt at doing just that with this tournament in Tampa. Prahlad Madabhushi has been a good servant of cricket in these parts and we are partnering with him to ensure that we have a very successful tournament this time around.

“We have held all our major tournaments through this Covid period and all has been completed successfully. We have staged the US Open T20 our biggest tournament twice in this period and has also hosted the Legends World Cup for the first time last year. Coming on stream this year will be the President’s Cup our first tournament, as well as the T10 World Cup. We then have the Legends World Cup again before the next US Open T20 tournament in December.”
Madabhushi said he was thrilled to have the tournament staged at this time. “This is our major tournament and the players are all looking forward to coming out and performing here. We are quite happy to be part of all this and I am sure at the end of it all the players will have an opportunity to showcase their talent with the T10 World Cup and US Open T20 to come up later in the year.”